American Roots Rock, Rock and roll, Singer-Songwriter
Find Artist On
Itunes available.png


Steve Conte is a New York City musician; guitarist, songwriter and singer of the band Steve Conte NYC, whose debut album was funded via this Pledgemusic page in 2013. Prior to that he led Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth, a dirty rock & roll band whose eponymous, critically acclaimed, Steve Conte-produced debut album was released in late 2009 on Varèse Sarabande Records. He was also lead singer/guitarist/songwriter of The Contes, along with his brother John Conte, both formerly members of the band Crown Jewels.

He is perhaps more popularly known for being former lead guitarist of the New York Dolls. Conte also plays guitar in Hanoi Rocks singer Michael Monroe‘s new band —along with fellow New York Doll and bassist Sami Yaffa, guitarist Dregen of Backyard Babies (replacing Ginger of The Wildhearts) and drummer Karl Rockfist. Conte has written the lion’s share of the latest Monroe album, “Horns And Halos” which was released in August of 2013.

Steve Conte first became known to the music industry in the early 1990s as the songwriter and guitarist of the band Company of Wolves (Mercury Records) and has since worked with artists such as Willy DeVille, Paul Simon, Maceo Parker, Hubert Sumlin, Peter Wolf, Phoebe Snow, Billy Squier, Suzi Quatro,Chuck Berry, Simon & Garfunkel, David Johansen & The Harry Smiths, Willie Nile, Jill Jones and Eric Burdon & The Animals.

His songs appear in many feature films (The Perfect Age Of Rock And Roll, Growing Pains, etc.) and network television shows (Sons Of Anarchy, Smallville, The Firm, etc.)

Conte often works with composer Yoko Kanno and lyricist Tim Jensen, performing on soundtracks to anime series, such as Cowboy Bebop, Wolf’s Rain and Ghost in the Shell. He sings lead on “Stray,” the opening theme to Wolf’s Rain as well as the tracks “Heaven’s Not Enough” and “Could You Bite the Hand?” All three appear on the OST albums. Conte’s vocals can also be heard in many episodes of Cowboy Bebop as well as the 2001 film. most notably, the songs “Call Me Call Me,” “Words That We Couldn’t Say,” “No Reply,” and “Diggin’.” He also sang the OST CD version of “Rain,” which is sung by Mai Yamane in the series. He would later sing alongside Shanti Snyder on “Living Inside the Shell,” the ending theme to 2004‘s Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG. He also performed on the duet “The Garden of Everything” with Japanese singer Maaya Sakamoto on her RahXephon-related single “Tune the Rainbow.” Conte also provided the vocals for the 2007 video game Sonic and the Secret Rings closing credits song titled “Worth a Chance,” as well as the game’s main theme “Seven Rings in Hand.”

This PledgeMusic project marks Steve Conte’s first release as a true solo artist. Along with the core rhythm section of drummer Rich Pagano and bassist, brother John Conte the album features special guest appearances from Rami Jaffee (Foo Fighters/The Wallflowers), Sylvain Sylvain (New York Dolls), Dennis Dunaway (Alice Cooper), Michael Monroe (Hanoi Rocks), Ginger (The Wildhearts), Dregen (Backyard Babies/Hellacopters), Paul-Ronney Angel (The Urban Voodoo Machine), Kenny Margolis & Boris Kinberg (Mink DeVille), Keith Christopher (Georgia Satellites/Dan Baird), Sami Yaffa (Hanoi Rocks, New York Dolls), Tracie Hunter & Phoebe White (Mott The Hoople), Crystal Taliefero (Bruce Springsteen/John Mellencamp), Jon Graboff (Ryan Adams And The Cardinals) and Kyf Brewer (Company Of Wolves, Barleyjuice)

Sample Artist Tracks


Current Download

Artists You Might Like