The Boys from Failure – Pioneers of Alternative Rock with a Cult Following

Failure is an American alternative rock band formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1990. The band’s original lineup included Ken Andrews (vocals, guitar), Greg Edwards (bass, guitar, keyboards), and Robert Gauss (drums), who was later replaced by Kellii Scott. Known for their distinctive sound, which blends heavy guitar riffs with melodic elements, Failure has become a cult favorite in the alternative rock scene.


  • “Stuck on You”
  • “Another Space Song”
  • “The Nurse Who Loved Me”
  • “Saturday Saviour”
  • “Counterfeit Sky”
  • “Hot Traveler”


  • “Comfort” (1992)
  • “Magnified” (1994)
  • “Fantastic Planet” (1996)
  • “The Heart Is a Monster” (2015)
  • “In the Future Your Body Will Be the Furthest Thing from Your Mind” (2018)
  • “Wild Type Droid” (2021)


  • “Comfort” – Their debut album, introducing their unique blend of heavy and melodic sounds.
  • “Fantastic Planet” – Their most acclaimed album, featuring hits like “Stuck on You” and “The Nurse Who Loved Me.”
  • “The Heart Is a Monster” – Their comeback album, marking a triumphant return to the music scene.

Significant Song Video Clips or Songs

  • “Stuck on You” – Known for its catchy melody and intriguing music video.
  • “The Nurse Who Loved Me” – A haunting track that showcases the band’s lyrical depth and musical complexity.
  • “Saturday Saviour” – A powerful song with an equally compelling video.


Failure’s peak popularity came in the mid-1990s with the release of “Fantastic Planet.” They toured extensively during this period, playing at venues across the United States and Europe. Their live performances were known for their intensity and atmospheric soundscapes, drawing dedicated fans and large crowds. Notable performances include shows at the Troubadour in Los Angeles and festivals like Lollapalooza.

Latest Project

Failure’s latest project includes the album “The Heart Is a Monster” (2015), which marked their return after a long hiatus. The album was well-received, featuring singles like “Hot Traveler” and “Counterfeit Sky.” The band continues to tour, performing at various venues and festivals, and maintaining their strong connection with fans. Their live shows remain a testament to their enduring appeal and musical prowess.